Chapter President:                                                  Cara Martin

President Elect/CTTC/Program Chair:                 Douglas Belokopitsky

Vice President/ Newsletter Editor:                        Dan Williams

Treasurer:                                                                  Erick Moser

Secretary:                                                                  David Houle

Board of Governors                                                 Nick Casale

Board of Governors:                                                Heather Maxwell

Board of Governors:                                                Tom Farrell

Board of Governors:                                                John Thomas

Board of Governors:                                                Tim Houle

Membership Chair:                                                  Adam Feather

Student Activities Chair:                                         Dave Ricci

Research Promotion Chair:                                   Chris Schmidt

Refrigeration Chair                             Ray Hickey

Historian:                                                                   Stanley Westhoff

Webmaster/Home Page Editor/ CECC:               Michael Schwarz

YEA                                                                            John Roylance



The Northeast Chapter of ASHRAE started off the year with a successful CRC in Burlington, VT. The following awards and certificates were presented:

  • Emery Otruba received a Certificate of Appreciation for his leadership on the Regional Nominating Committee
  • Richard Vehlow received a Certificate of Appreciation for his leadership as the Regional Vice Chair of Membership Promotion
  • Cara Martin was presented the Outstanding Programs Award for her work as Chapter Program Chair
  • Stan Westhoff received a History Gold Ribbon for the updated history of Arthur Bergles
  • Tim Houle received the Bronze Treasury Ribbon, Full Circle Chevron and Achievement Certificate for exceeding chapter goal as the Chapter Research Promotion Chair
  • Nick Casale received the Presidential Award of Excellence, Honor Roll, and Special Citation for his guidance as Chapter President for 2012 – 2013.

Golf/Steak Roast at the Western Turnpike Golf Course.  The September meeting had Steve Springer of VAF Filtration speak on Cooling Tower Filtration.  In October was the Capitol Mechanical Engineering & Energy Symposium.  November had Joseph Klotz spoke on BMS Wireless Solutions and December had Dave Dwyer of Clearwater Systems speak on Physical Water Treatment using Pulsed Power.  In January Greg Sifferlen of Schneider Electric presented the Economics of Close-Coupled Cooling in the Data Center.  The February speaker was Rudolf Zaengerle of Konvekta who presented HVAC Energy Recovery.  The March meeting was Desiccant Dehumidification by Steve Picolo of Advantix Systems.  The April meeting included Joe Furman the DRC of Region I and a Certificate of Appreciation presented to Cara Martin as Past President with Tim Devine of DNV GL speaking on Realistic Standards for Optimizing Building HVAC.  May meeting included an announcement of Officers and BOG members and a presentation on Noise & Vibration Control in HVAC by Bruce Majer of BRD Noise & Vibration Control Inc. There will be an Officer & BOG Installation in June for 2014-2015.

There was a superbowl pool and 50/50 raffles throughout the year with proceeds going to ASHRAE Research. 




Submitted by:

Stan Westhoff

Northeast Chapter Historian