Chapter President:                                               Dan Williams

President Elect/CTTC/Program Chair:                 David Houle

Vice President/ Newsletter Editor:                        Adam Feather

Treasurer:                                                             Kendra Potasiewicz

Secretary:                                                             Trevor Gensch

Board of Governors:                                             Douglas Belokopitsky

Board of Governors:                                             Russ Danforth

Board of Governors:                                             John Thomas                                                          

Board of Governors:                                             Tim Houle

Board of Governors:                                             Gregg Kirkpatrick

Membership Chair:                                               Liesl Hammer

Honors and Awards:                                             Kristin Gustafson

Student Activities Chair:                                       Dave Ricci

Research Promotion Chair:                                  Chris Schmidt

Refrigeration Chair                                               Ray Hickey

Historian:                                                              Stanley Westhoff

Webmaster/Home Page Editor/ CECC:               Erik Olson

YEA                                                                      Taylor Bastow

The Northeast Chapter of ASHRAE started off the year with a successful CRC in Syracuse, NY. The following awards and certificates were presented:

  • Doug Belokopitsky received the Presidential Award of Excellence
  • Stan Westhoff received a History Gold Ribbon for a history of Doug Belokopitsky
  • Chris Schmidt received a Gold Certificate for achieving Goal as the Chapter Research Promotion Chair

Golf/Steak Roast at Airway Meadows Golf Club was a success.  The October meeting had Khaled Yousef presenting the program on "Introduction to properly sized Advanced HELE wood pellet based biomass boiler heating systems and the renewable heat New York Governor's Initiative", November had Kevin Diehl present on "What is PID Control", December was Past Presidents Night with a presentation by Gordon Sharp on "Building a Net Zero Lab in the United Arab Emirates – Mission Impossible?", January had Ray Hickey present a "One of a Kind HVAC&R System", February had Laurel Christensen present on "Air Movement for Energy Efficient Comfort in Conditioned Spaces", March had Joseph Samuell present on "Solving Dirt, Air and Hydraulic Separation Problems", April was a joint meeting with AEE and NY-GEO with Dennis Landsberg, PhD, Fellow presenting "ASHRAE 100-2015 Energy Efficiency in Existing Buildings", The May was an invitation to Life members with introduction by Kendra Potasiewicz, YEA member and current Northeast Chapter Treasurer. Life Members in attendance were: Ray Albrecht, Mark Bagdon, Peter Otavio and Evan Walden.  Roul Gautreau of Trane presented on Hybrid Water Source Heat Pump Systems. A Tour of Unilux Advanced Manufacturing was held in June.

Past Presidents attending the December Meeting:

  • Gus Ziamandanis (1974-75)
  • Stan Westhoff (1985-86)
  • Gerard Marciano (1992-93)
  • Evan Walden (1993-94)
  • Bradley Fisher (1994-95)
  • Rich Vehlow (2005-06)
  • Khaled Yousef (2007-08)
  • Mark Cambria (2010-11)
  • Mike Carr (2011-12)
  • Doug Belokopitsky (2014-15)

The Northeast Chapter had two members awarded ASHRAE Fellow status this year at the Winter Meeting of ASHRAE in Orlando, FL.  They were:

  • William D. Gerstler, PhD (Chapter President 2008-09)
  • Dennis Landsberg, PhD

Election of Chapter BOG and Officers took place in April by ballot with the following slate being approved for the 2016-2017 year:

  • David Houle – President
  • Adam Feather – President-Elect
  • Kendra Potasiewicz – Vice President
  • Trevor Gensch – Treasurer
  • Kristin Gustafson – Secretary
  • Timothy Houle – BOG
  • John Thomas – BOG
  • Russ Danforth – BOG
  • Todd Turcotte – BOG
  • Greg Kirkpatrick – BOG
  • Dan Williams – BOG/Past President

There was a superbowl pool and 50/50 raffles throughout the year with proceeds going to ASHRAE Research. 

Submitted by:

Stan Westhoff

Northeast Chapter Historian